Girls and Leaders can work toward a range of amazing awards to mark their achievements

As girls progress through guiding, those who want an extra challenge can complete further awards outside of the programme themes. These awards will be familiar as they’ve long been a part of guiding. They’re a chance for young women to take on wide-reaching adventures in their community and internationally.

Top section awards

There are three top section awards, for each section, they build on Theme awards.

  • Section Bronze award: a girl needs to complete any two Theme awards from her current section.

  • Section Silver award: a girl needs to complete any four Theme awards from her current section.

  • Section Gold award: a girl needs to earn all six Theme awards and then do a final challenge. The challenge changes depending on a girl’s section and her interests.

These awards are a great achievement and a big commitment. So it’s up to each girl whether she chooses to complete the top section awards.

Queen’s Guide award

The Queen’s Guide award is the highest accolade you can work towards in guiding. It gives girls the chance to develop their skills and have outdoors adventures while contributing to guiding and their local community. 

Who’s it for? Members aged 16-25 years old

Our County Queen's Guide Award Co-ordinator can offer you more help and information on this award.

Congratulations to Holly Garbett, who completed her Queen's Guide award in 2019.

In this sort video, watch what adventures Holly had and the activities she chose to complete, to gain her award!

Commonwealth award

A truly international challenge, the Commonwealth award is open to guiding members in all Commonwealth countries. This award strengthens the bonds between girls living in the Commonwealth as they learn about each other’s history and culture.

Who’s it for? Members aged 13-25 years old

Your Unit Leader can offer you more help and information on this award.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

The Duke of Edinburgh's Award is an internationally recognised challenge that girls can complete as part of their guiding experience. There are three progressive levels of the award – Bronze, Silver and Gold – that vary in length and commitment. 

Who’s it for? Anyone aged 14-25 years old (up until a girl’s 25th birthday)

Our County Duke of Edinburgh Award Adviser can offer you more help and information on this award.


Permits boost girls’ camping and event knowledge, experience and confidence. They also empower them to make the right decisions when things don’t go to plan.

  • The Guide camp permit (12-14 year olds)

  • The Lead Away permit (14-18 year olds)

Your Unit Leader can offer you more help and information on these awards.

County Good Service Certificate

This certificate is automatically presented to a Leader receiving the 20 year Long Service Bar, providing the majority of service was within the County of Cornwall. It can also be recommended for the following;-

  • A leader who has given regular or exceptional commitment to County events or within a County appointment.

  • A Leader who has continued Guiding in exceptional circumstances or has mad an exceptional contribution.

  • A young member of the guiding in special circumstances. (e.g. a young member who has continued guiding through severe illness or prolonged medical treatment.

Your Division Commissioner can make recommendations at the annual Awards meeting held in November.

County Commissioner's Award

This award was created in 2010 and is made from South Crofty tin. It is awarded to any Leader for exceptional service to Girlguiding Cornwall.

Names for this award can be put forward to the County Commissioners but it is at her discretion if the award is to be given to the person nominated.

County Standard Brooch

This award was first introduced in 2000. It is awarded to say thank you to adult members or non-members, who have given some special service to Girlguiding Cornwall. This includes:

  • County Vice-Presidents and Life Members.

  • Members who have served on the County Executive Committee.

  • Members who have given an excellent piece of service to Cornwall and who have already received a County Good Service Certificate.

Girlguiding South West England has some fantastic awards. They are waiting for YOU to nominate one of our many wonderful members, recognised volunteers and helpers. We are so proud of the many fabulous things that they all do for Girlguiding so come on and get nominating!

Silver Oak Leaf Award

The Silver Oak Leaf will be awarded to recognise and acknowledge the outstanding contribution and commitment that any adult has made to the promotion or advancement of Guiding within South West England.

Who’s it for? Members aged over 18 years old.

Congratulations to Sue Norfolk and Jill Jeffs who were virtually awarded their Silver Oak Leaf Award by Carole Pennington (South West England's Regional Chief Commissioner) in July 2020.

"There will be many of you that had a hand in this and we are very grateful that you took the time and made the effort and put the energy into nominating us.

We could not have done it without a super supportive team so that you all for supporting us!!!

It was a total surprise and a huge honour."

Jill and Sue.


Compass Award

The Girlguiding South West England Compass Award is awarded to recognise the dedication of our memebers at a local level who give freely of their time on a regular basis to provide good quality Guiding.

Who’s it for? Members aged 18 years and over.

A massive congratulations to Ann, Marilyn, Yvonne, Elaine and Peggy on being awarded their Girlguiding South West England Compass Award in September 2020. 

A presentation was held by Zoom. Marilyn, pictured,  celebrated with a cream tea at the Earl Grey Tearoom. Marilyn said, "It was a very humbling afternoon hearing lots of lovely things said about me."

Young Adult Leaders' Award

The Girlguiding South West England Young Adult Leaders' Award can be gained by a leader who has done something special or remarkable. Thi sis a wide ranging award and will reflect the individula circumstances.

Who’s it for? Members aged 18 -30 years old.

Chief Commissioner's Award

The Chief Commissioner's Award is given at the discretion of the Chief Commissioner to a member or non-member of Girlguiding South West England.

Who’s it for? Members and non-members of any age.

Region Thanks Badge

The Region Thanks Badge is awarded by the Chief Commissioner to anyone who has given service to achieved something special which is worthy of recognition by the Region.

Who’s it for? Members and non-members over the age of 18 years.

How to nominate

Download application packs for the Silver Oak, Compass and Young Adult Leader's Award from the Region website.

To nominate someone for the Chief Commissioner's Award or the Region Thanks Badge apply in writing to the Chief Commissioner, C/o Jenni Freeth at the Region office. Nominations can be made by any member of Gilrguiding, the Trefoil Guild and associated organisations. The Awards Sub-committee may also make a nomination.

National formal awards for leaders

At Girlguiding we want to thank all our volunteers for their contribution to guiding - it's an important way to make sure people stay with us.

Awards are a wonderful way to celebrate the achievements of members and recognised volunteers in your team. You can use an award to recognise:

  • Commendable conduct

  • Outstanding and excellent service

  • Long service

Click on the awards below to find out who is eligible for the award and how to nominate a Leader to receive the award.

Formal awards

Discretionary awards

Members can also be nominated for the following discretionary awards:

© 2021 by Girlguiding Cornwall. Proudly created with

Girlguiding Cornwall is the operating name of Cornwall Guide Association. Registered charity No. 300365